Chicken Noodle Soup

Hey oh! It’s Thursday. The day you wish was Friday. Fear not – we are approaching the weekend, I promise. It has been colder here this past week. We actually just had to turn the heat on. I mean, come on. Let’s not go down this road, yet. Let’s have some warm, fall days – you know – t-shirt and jeans weather. Right?

Every year around this time (the below freezing mornings that prompt you to cover your mums and break out the flannel sheets) I think of all of the soups I need to make and the pies I should definitely bake. So, I guess we have to face facts. Those facts are:

  1. Winter is coming (my husband tells me this is a Game of Thrones reference – whatev.)
  2. It’s going to be dark when I drag myself from my bed
  3. Fall = soup = chicken noodle soup

closeup

This recipe is actually my mother-in-law, Joelle’s (HI JOELLE!). My husband’s family loves this soup. I know I’m obsessed.

The recipe does not call for any kind of noodles or dumplings. I recommend adding some. Both sides of our family makes spatzle. Joelle uses it in this soup. Spatzle is a German soft dumpling made with a dumpling maker. It seems like it is difficult. I assure you, it’s not.If you aren’t really looking to go out and purchase a spatzle maker for this soup (how dare you!), grab a bag of kluski egg noodles. I’ve used them in this soup. They are wonderful.

51n0alndbol

I will add the dumpling recipe, though, also. Hey, maybe you’ve got a spatzle maker just beggin’ for some dough.

So, what’s in this pot-0-soup? Well, let’s begin.

I bought 8 pieces of chicken for this recipe. The recipe calls for 6-8 pieces of chicken or a whole chicken cut up. I used 4 drumsticks and 4 bone-in, skin on breasts. Take the skin off the chicken and add it to your pot. Fill the pot with cold water, 2-3 inches above the chicken. Bring the water to a boil. You want to maintain a boil that is just above a simmer – so likely a low to medium heat. Allow this to boil for approximately 2 hours.

Since you’ve got 2 hours to kill, you’ll want to cut up 5-6 small cooking onions. If they are small enough, I typically only cut them in half. If larger, be sure to quarter them. You’ll also need a bag of baby carrots, dried parsley and black pepper. Now you have 1 hour and 45 minutes to kill. HA. Read a book? Knit a sweater? The possibilities are endless…

onionscarrots

After 2 hours, remove the chicken from the pot. While it cools, add to the pot a large box of chicken broth, the onions, carrots, pepper, and parsley. Remove the chicken from the bones and add back to the pot. Continue to boil the soup for an additional hour. Check the carrots and onions to be sure they are cooked through.

At this point, if you’re making the homemade dumplings, begin to boil your water and make the dough. If you’re just using noodles, add those to the soup and boil for the specified time on the package.

dumplings

Occasionally, once I see how much liquid is being soaked up by the dumplings/noodles, I will add an additional can of chicken broth. This is up to you. The soup will taste just as good without this addition.

TADA! We’re done. Homemade chicken noodle soup. Your belly will thank me. Yes, yes – you’re welcome, belly.

bigpot

       Chicken Noodle Soup

  • 6-8 pieces chicken, skin removed or whole chicken cut up
  • 8-10 cups cold water
  • 6 cups chicken broth + 1 can chicken broth(optional)
  • 5-6 small cooking onions, halved or quartered
  • 1lb bag baby carrots
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 dried parsley
  • kluski noodles(optional)

Remove skin from chicken. Add to pot and cover with cold water. Boil for 2 hours. Remove chicken from pot. While chicken is cooling, add the 6 cups of broth, onions, carrots, pepper and parsley to the pot. Cut the chicken from the bones and add back to the pot. Boil for an additional hour. Check the onions and carrots to be sure they are cooked through. Add the noodles or dumplings at this point, if using. Boil the noodles according to the packaging. Serve with warm, crusty bread.

dumplingmaker

Spatzle

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Bring large pot of water to a boil. Mix ingredients together. Spray spatzle maker with cooking spray. Place spatzle maker on top of pot, over boiling water. Add dough, in batches, to the maker. Quickly push the top of the spatzle maker back and forth creating dumplings. Once all dough has been used, boil noodles for 7 minutes. Remove noodles from water and place directly into soup.

Leave a Reply

